Sydney International Piano Competition 2012: Quarter-Finalists Named

The 20 pianists admitted to the Quarter Finals (Stage III) of the Sydney International Piano Competition of Australia (SIPCA) 2012 have been named. They are as follows (besides playing in this order):

Wei Cao (China)
Tanya Gabrielian (USA)
James Guan (Australia)
Stefano Guarascio (Italy)
Atsushi Imada (Japan)
Maya Irgalina (Belarus)
Elizaveta Ivanova (Russia)
Nikolay Khozyainov (Russia)
Jin-Hong Li (China)
Dmitry Onishchenko (Ukraine)
Olga Paliy (Ukraine)
Lu Shen (China)
Sean Yeh (USA)
Qian Yong (China)
Tomoaki Yoshida (Japan)
Avan Yu (Canada)
Hao Zhu (China)
Arta Arnicane (Latvia)
Mikhail Berestnev (Russia)
Giulio Biddau (Italy)

Competitors will each play a 40 minute recital, including a specially commissioned work by Carl Vine or Anne Boyd, on Monday and Tuesday (9 and 10 July 2012). The sessions may be caught live at: